Ancient hymn from Ugarit

Reading a clay tablet with ancient written music:

The notation here is essentially a set of instructions for intervals and tuning based around a heptatonic diatonic scale. There’s much more detail about the precise language and instructions here .
The lyrics are very difficult to translate, but one academic has come up with this rendering of them:
‘Once I have endeared the deity, she will love me in her heart,
the offer I bring may wholly cover my sin,
bringing sesame oil may work on my behalf in awe may I’

Read more at http://www.classicfm.com/music-news/videos/oldest-song-melody/#YzLYOJPvw6PfAtRd.99

And here is the video:

 

About theoutwardquest

I have many interests, but will blog mostly about what I read in the fields of Bible and religion.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

