Let My Cry Come

Here is a literate Lenten meditation from someone who has struggled with God, faith and human pain:

Maybe it was because I was tired of hating God at every turn. Maybe it was because I’d simply come to the end of wanting to take the woes of the world onto my shoulders. Maybe it was because I just happened, at that moment, to be ready to snap out of it. Or maybe it was because of the childish message of the song. Urban sophisticates can, after all, be some of the densest matter in the universe, and sometimes need to be spoken to in very simple ways.

For me, the voice said something like, “Oh, come off it and cop to your own shortcomings. I gave you everything there is and now you want Me to fix it? Be glad I made it fixable. And, if I hadn’t made it the way it is, there’d be no you hanging around to hate Me, would there?”

And my hatred of God left me.

About theoutwardquest

I have many interests, but will blog mostly about what I read in the fields of Bible and religion.
This entry was posted in Seasonal, Spirituality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

