New project

It occurred to me that I haven’t done anything entirely about any of the prophets.  So for my next reading project I am reading John Goldingay’s The Theology of the Book of Isaiah: Diversity and Unity.

The Amazon link is here

I have been thinking about Isaiah more after reading Israel Knohl’s Divine Symphony. Knohl connected Isaiah and the Holiness school which arose, according to him, as a response to the prophetic attack on the rather amoral teachings of the Temple priests.

I have no idea if Goldingay even deals with this proposal.  But it looks like he has an up-to-date discussion of the Isaiah school’s approach.  So give me a day or so to read.

By the way, in a few weeks I’ll have to take a little break.  My brothers and I are moving my 94-year-old mother into a new assisted care place.  All four of us boys are going to be there–a rarity.  This will take me away for a week.  It will come in the middle of the Goldingay project. But there will likely be no mid-winter vacation to Florida this year. So my posts should be steady after next month’s break.  God willing.

About theoutwardquest

I have many interests, but will blog mostly about what I read in the fields of Bible and religion.
This entry was posted in Isaiah and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

