What comes next

When I finished Israel’s Ethongenesis I was looking forward to moving about 3,000 years forward and reading Belief Without Borders by Linda Mercadante. She was a journalist and now is a theology professor. In the book she looks at the phenomenon of people who say they are spiritual but not religious (SBNR). She used her journalism skills to interview a range of these people. She used her theology training to give an exposition and evaluation of the SBNR theology or theologies.

Alas, life has intervened. My doctor has concluded it is time for me to part company with my gall bladder. He has referred me to a surgeon. So what is next now is a medical leave of absence from the blog. No one wants me trying to blog when I am high on meds. I am not going to attempt anything more intellectual than listening to classic rock and jazz and watching post-season baseball.

So I want to finish up the Faust book on Monday or Tuesday. After that look for me to return later in October. I am still going to do the Mercadante book.

If you are a praying person, I would be grateful for your prayers. I am not picky about how you pray. I have an elderly aunt who says a rosary for me every day. That is not the way I pray. But I am deeply grateful.

The surgery should not be a big deal, but I have a bit of a phobia about going under anesthesia. (Years ago I had a course of oral surgery and refused anesthesia. I said that people confessed their sins to me, so there is no telling what I might say. The real reason, though, is that I am a big baby about going into a dark tunnel without being able to see the light on the other side.)

About theoutwardquest

I have many interests, but will blog mostly about what I read in the fields of Bible and religion.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

