On panic and technology

WordPress hosts this blog.  I can’t complain much because so far I have been using it for free.  It has been a good place to blog. I have been seriously considering upgrading my service and spending a few dollars.  Then the other night they changed to a whole format for writing, editing and posting.  Apparently the new format has been designed for teenagers who blog with their phones.

It took me a couple of days to find a way to work around this and get back to the old format, which works better for serious blogging.  But the new format is the default and I hear they want eventually to do away with the former set up.

I really hope I do not have to go through the hassle of moving the blog.

There is a lot of upheaval as technology changes.  People say the desktop is dead, that everybody is changing to handheld devices.  People are panicking and trying to get ahead of the trend.

I will admit to being reactionary about this.  For instance, I refused to move to Windows when the rest of the world did.  When IBM dropped support for OS2 Warp for personal computers, I was left dangling in the wind.  I still haven’t fallen in love with Windows (reference the movie, Her, where the guy falls in love with his operating system).  I have a Linux operating system.  And my preferred browser is one most Americans don’t know about, Maxthon.

I am not, however, as reactionary and peculiar as some writers.  I understand that George R. R. Martin (Game of Thrones) types out his huge novels with 1970s era WordStar software.  He seems to have been successful anyway.

Today, Google/Chrome/Android seems to be taking over the world.  Companies tend to think consumers don’t have a choice.  But we always have a choice.  You do not have to go along with every trend.  If you are willing to experiment a little you can find something that works for you.

Companies, governments, and the mainline churches tend toward historicism, the view that we know where history is going.  Their aim is not to be on the wrong side of history. But making bets on history is like making bets on the stock market.  You can be spectacularly wrong. You really do not know where history is going.

All this is to say that the people at WordPress should not have panicked.  Next week I will go back to my reading project and hope that blogging here does not become too inconvenient.

About theoutwardquest

I have many interests, but will blog mostly about what I read in the fields of Bible and religion.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

