Easter-Psalm 118

I live near Kansas City.  If you have been paying attention to the news at all, you know that an antisemite shot people in the parking lots at a Jewish complex in Overland Park, Kansas yesterday.  I am familiar with the area.  In fact I blogged about an exhibit I attended there a few years ago.

The crime happened as Passover approached–probably on purpose.  But it is also the Christian Holy Week leading up to Easter.  And Christians were the people shot.

Psalm 118 is the Psalm set to be read in many Churches on Easter Sunday.  Here is one line: “With the Lord on my side I do not fear. What can mortals do to me?”

Christians and Jews have a tradition of belief in the resurrection that comes from the Pharisees.  This belief is reinforced from the Christian point of view by the Easter event.  But many Jews already believed in resurrection.  In the face of persecution and murder, people of faith can hold the sentiment of those words from the Psalm.   God is beyond our mortality.  He transcends this life and death.  So what, indeed, can mortals do to us?

Blogging will continue to be light this week.  I am making a big overhaul of the Linux OS on my desktop.  Also this time of year brings me lots of church and family events.

 

 

 

 

About theoutwardquest

I have many interests, but will blog mostly about what I read in the fields of Bible and religion.
This entry was posted in Lectionary, Psalms, Seasonal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

