Next up-John Hurd on 1 Corinthians

 

I have been sick.  The first day I had nausea and vertigo.  Then I took anti-nausea medicine, which made me sleep a lot and took away any ambition.  To sit in a chair and use the remote to stream a movie seemed like an effort well beyond me.  Don’t do drugs!

So I am still spacey.  But I have decided what book to blog through next.  I was pleased with my effort to revive an old book when I blogged about Adam Welch’s The Code of Deuteronomy.  And I have been meaning to do something about the New Testament. So I am looking at The Origin of 1 Corinthians by John Hurd.

He lectured at my campus when I was in seminary.  I think it was about his attempt to construct a chronology of Paul’s ministry based purely on the epistles and ignoring Acts.  See his article “Chronology, Pauline” in the supplementary volume of the Interpreter’s Bible Dictionary.  Anyway, I met him.  And the next year I read his 1965 book, The Origin of 1 Corinthians.  It has always had some influence on my thinking about 1 Corinthians.

It is a speculative book.  This is necessary because he tries to reconstruct the Corinthian side of the Pauline correspondence. The Corinthians had written Paul a letter.  We do not have that letter, so reading 1 Corinthians is a little like listening to one side of the phone conversation.  Hurd tries to give us an insight into the questions the Corinthians were asking Paul.

About theoutwardquest

I have many interests, but will blog mostly about what I read in the fields of Bible and religion.
This entry was posted in Bible, Paul and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

