Men and Church

This morning I read an article about why men don’t go to church so much.

Men don’t go to church as much as women. I am a man who still goes to church even though I no longer serve as a pastor.  What are the statistics for retired pastors who stop going to church, I wonder. 

I have close relatives who are Eastern Orthodox, so this angle interests me:

“Men are staying away from church. The reasons are undoubtedly complex, but perhaps a clue can be found in a Christian group that attracts men and women in roughly equal numbers: Eastern Orthodoxy. A cynic might say that men are attracted to Orthodoxy because it is conservative, with an all-male clergy, many of them sporting beards. The finding of religion journalist Frederica Mathewes-Green, however, is closer to the truth. She surveyed male adult converts and discovered that Orthodoxy’s main appeal is that it’s “challenging.” One convert said, ‘Orthodoxy is serious. It is difficult. It is demanding. It is about mercy, but it is also about overcoming myself.’ Another said that he was sick of ‘bourgeois, feel-good American Christianity’.”

Read the whole article.

About theoutwardquest

I have many interests, but will blog mostly about what I read in the fields of Bible and religion.
This entry was posted in Church, Spirituality and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

